Event Details

30 Jan
Lutoslawski Centenary 2013
Philharmonia Orchestra
Royal Festival Hall

25 points

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Krystian Zimerman piano

£ 5.00
LUTOSLAWSKI Musique Funèbre LUTOSLAWSKI Piano Concerto RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé (complete) Tonight's concert opens the celebrations for the exact centenary of Lutoslawski's birth tomorrow. What better, therefore, than to open proceedings with his Musique Funèbre, which the composer himself described as 'my first word in a new language.' The Piano Concerto is, by comparison, one of Lutoslawski's last completed works, a glorious summation of his creative achievement that belongs in the great tradition of Romantic piano concertos stretching all the way back to Chopin and Liszt. There is also a rare opportunity to hear Ravel's complete ballet score Daphnis et Chloé, which shares with Lutoslawski's distinctive soundworlds a meticulous attention to detail that is ravishing and utterly magical.